How to transfer data to your new Windows 8 PC? Check out this post: http://forums.clickfree.com/discussion/2187/transferring-data-to-windows-8-windows-8-1

Restore Emails and TurboTax Return

I've been using the backup drive for several years now without any concerns.  My computer crashed last week and I had to reinstall the operating system and programs.  So for the first time, I used the Clickfree backup drive to restore the lost data.  It worked for itunes, pictures, office documents, etc.  However, it didn't work for two important data:

1.  Emails

2.  Turbo Tax return - .tax

I tried four times and it didn't work.  I looked for these two data and couldn't find them on the backup drive although the settings show they are programmed to be backed up.  As a note, the software is current as I have the auto update setting on.

Request your help ... thank you.
Tagged:

Comments

• Anis_CFAnis_CF Posts: 382Moderator mod
    edited October 2013
    Without knowing the model of your Clickfree, I will provide some generic steps.
    Depending on the email application that you are using, Clickfree may or may not back it up.

1. Email:

Cloud Based Email: Email services such as Gmail, Yahoo Mail, and Hotmail are considered cloud based email. The word "cloud" means the actual data (email, contact, address...etc.) are not saved locally on your computer. Instead, they are saved in a remote server somewhere on earth. That's why you are able to sign in to your email account and access your emails anywhere with a computer and internet connection.

Since the data are not saved on the computer, Clickfree will be unable to back them up. 

Local Email Application: If you are using email application such as Microsoft Outlook, where all the data are saved locally, then Clickfree will back them up. Since Microsoft Outlook is the most common local email application, Clickfree already include it in its default backup settings. No additional change are necessary to back up Outlook files.